carliewired

By carliewired

Ghastly

Visibility
is four thousand, eight hundred
and thirty meters

~ carliewired

It is another day with grim prospects for visibility and air quality. The wildfires all around us are to blame. The smoke oozes into our valleys and remains until the air flow moves it out and in a different direction. 

It was 18 C when I left the house at 6 AM. I parked at the west end of Riverside Park in our downtown. 

I had a quick look at the community garden in the park. There are several of these around the city. Individuals can lease a small plot and are given a key for the gate. There are strict rules about the use and care of the plot. I was curious to see what was grown there. It appears to be largely vegetables with some flowers as minor players. Sunflowers certainly are an attraction. 

As I was overlooking the garden, the Canadian Pacific freight train rolled into the city. It skirts the edge of the park on an elevated track. It completely startled me when its braking made a crash like thunder. That can't be very welcome to sleepers. 

When the Canadian Pacific Railway was constructed in Kamloops in 1885, it came right down the main street. It was referred to then as the longest tram line in Canada. When automobiles became more commonplace, the tracks were realigned to their present location in 1914. 

I admired the zinnias in all the showy planters by the pier. I made a mental note to plant some myself next year. 

I headed back across the bridge to pick up some groceries and a quick take out breakfast. 

Our temperatures are rising again. The forecast says we can expect a high of 36 C. With that and the smoke, it's a very good day to stay inside. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.