carliewired

By carliewired

Smoke on the River

It is the last day
of July - a month with so
many fires and smoke

~ carliewired

It was 18 C when I was backing my car out of the driveway at 6 AM. I planned to be over on Mission Flats along the Thompson River.

The smoke hanging in the valleys greatly limits my landscape shots. I would normally be able to see west to the start of Kamloops Lake and also my mountains to the east. Not so today. I could barely see across the river to the traffic control tower at the airport. I've come to understand the limits of my telephoto lens peering through smoke. 

Whenever wildlife shows up for me to photograph, I consider it a gift from the universe. Today I was very blessed. 

A little flock of Canada geese flew down onto the river in front of me. They turned themselves to face upstream and floated downstream on the current. They didn't make a sound. 

An eagle landed in one of those gnarly trees beside the river. He paid me no attention whatsoever, but stayed long enough for me to get my shot, then sailed down over the river and was gone. 

As I walked back to my car, I noticed the wildflowers along the edge of the road. I have yet to identify what they are. I was so surprised to see any colour in all that dried vegetation. 

Across the road I noticed the Canadian Pacific Railway train was stopped on the tracks. The front engine was running. We usually see red engines, but this one's colours are different. If I were a trainspotter I would know what it means. ***

As I got back into my vehicle, movement on the hillside beside me caught my attention. A buck and doe were having breakfast together. I watched them sample the vegetation and then prune the trees along the top of the hill. 

I treated myself to a drive-thru breakfast and headed home with it. 

We're looking at a hot day today with a high of 35 C. Air quality is 10+ which is rated at very high risk. I will happily keep myself busy indoors. 

*** Canadian Pacific Railway issued this 'heritage locomotive' in 2019. It is one of ten that was painted in these colours to honour a retired paint scheme. These colours with script writing were originally in use from 1960 to 1968. The heritage locomotives were built in the 1990s but sat in storage almost immediately. This particular locomotive was already spotted in the state of Pennsylvania this month! (I think I have a whole new hobby!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.