Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Found it!

Yes! With Christine’s explicit instructions (Robin Cook’s grave, turn right at the big obelisk, along six rows, turn left, fourth one down). I eventually found the ex-slave Tom’s grave, though he was free when he died in 1884, aged 13. Archie just loves it in the cemetery - he drags me across the road at a great rate of knots, and naughtily, stops in his tracks (he’s off the lead) when he realises we’re heading back out the gate.

I was tempted to pop in to the cafe again, as there were spare seats outside. A coffee and a scone were my aims. Yes, the diet is over - at my advanced age, I feel I should have all the treats I can get - within reason, of course. But it began to mizzle, and there were no seats inside, so we came home. 

JR went to the gym, then came home and went to the supermarket to stock up, then she took Archie out again. I think that she may have sat down and had a coffee in between times. I watched Olympics (Track and Field events have started) and cricket, but I’ve just been reading about how the Hundreds cricket competition is not loved by all - especially County Cricket. I would have thought that anything to make cricket more accessible - free to air, excitingly close matches that don’t last forever - and popular would be welcome.

We’re escaping all that bad weather down south!

EDIT: More info about Tom here. Thanks T!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.