STANLEY BOARD SCHOOL

I decided to go to Stanley this afternoon.  Its a former colliery town in Co Durham and is around 6 miles from where I live.  Luckily there is a bus to Stanley which passes close to my house.

When I got there the weather was fine and I started looking in various shops and took my blip shots.  When I came out of Poundstretcher I was surprised to see it was lashing down with rain and within 5 mins Front Street was like a river.  I decided to cut my visit short and made a dash for the bus station to get the bus home.

My blip shows the derelict buildings of Stanley Board School.  They comprise of the school, the headmasters house and annex buildings.  They were built over an eight year period from 1891 to 1899. The buildings have been derelict for many years and during that time have suffered fire damage.  In 2014 they were purchased at auction by a property developer for £150,000 and his intention was to convert them into apartments.  I have no idea why this never happened.  Since I last saw them some lovely artwork of birds and flowers has been added to the boarded up windows.  An improvement ... but its still an eyesore.  Thanks to  Marlieske for hosting the derelict challenge.

When I got home I just watched TV and enjoyed a nice cup of hot chocolate to warm me up.  I woke up " full of cold " this morning so getting a bit wet in Stanley did me no good at all.

Steps today - 5,945

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.