Rabbit Proof

That's the idea anyway. A new tree guard round this small pear tree. The rabbits are a menace at the community orchard. You can't blame them I suppose but they strip the bark off any tree they get to. The trees are very well tended and at this morning's orchard maintenance session this tree was given a helping hand to keep the bunnies out. Other trees were being lopped. There are plum, pear, apple (many varieties) and quince trees in this little orchard which is 9 years old and already very productive.

A rather dull blip but it's a slow news day.

I wasn't on the maintenance squad but I stopped for a chat with the orchard volunteers. This morning I met two new neighbours one of whom is moving in along the road to a house where, in the past, I've spent many, many happy times. I hope she will enjoy living in the street.

Domestic afternoon. I'm making blueberry muffins and an aubergine parmigiana. The weather is still good and a lot cooler than this time last week. Much more pleasant for being out and about. I think the airflow is moving round to the north which should keep things a bit more refreshing.

Right time for a cup of tea and quality assurance of the batch of muffins I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.