Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Heather

Last night Gavin and I watched Nomadland - I can see why it won the Oscar for best movie and for best performance by Frances McDormand, a remarkable film made on such a low budget. It was inspiring and depressing in equal measure but I recommend it.

This morning I had many chores to do around the house, laundry, changing bed linen etc but I eventually got out for a walk with Xena. It was warm and sunny but the sunshine soon faded. The heather looks so vibrant here, very pretty to see at this time of year.

It has been a strange summer, apart from the week long heat wave we had recently which for us fortunately coincided with our trip away to Devon, the summer has been wetter than usual and cooler than usual. I keep waiting for summer to arrive and now that we are already in August I fear we may just slip into autumn without a proper summer. I was hoping for better weather in Switzerland when we go there next week but it looks like they too have not had a great summer and it has been cool and wet. Just what we needed after the long lockdown through winter!

The NHS Covid app has now thankfully been tweaked to look for close contacts two days prior to a positive test rather than five days. It has been difficult getting anything done with so many people off self isolating when it has not been necessary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.