Haworth

Seemed as though it might be a fine day today, so decided to take myself off to Haworth for a wander round.  Caught first bus to Keighley and noticed the sky looked rather threatening.  Just nipped into the shopping centre and as I left the heavens opened and there was a torrential downpour interspersed with lots of hail!  I just happened to be in the one area without cover and got drenched in seconds!  I did have both a waterproof and an umbrella but it was too sudden to get them out!  Never mind - caught the bus to Haworth - bit tedious due to roadworks, and got off at the bottom of Main Street - the sun was cracking the flags by then!  A lovely wander round (and it was fairly quiet) my main image being the gothic style building at the top of the street. Lots of new coffee shops now, but sadly the demise of some of the good restaurants like Embers.  I called into the church as the sun was shining through the beautiful stained glass Windows, and I could hear the organ playing. The music was being played by a man who helped out at our church a few times, and always plays by ear.  He played Crimond for me, and said he now has the permanent position of organist there.  
Once I had had a good look around I walked back down Main Street and through the park.  I could hear a train whistle on the Worth Valley Line, so went up onto the railway bridge and watched one of the trains come into the station.  Unfortunately the tender was travelling backwards, so not the best view, but there is just something about the noise and the steam. Bus back to Keighley and a bit of shopping done, then home.  Enjoyed my little trip out.  Next time I might just jump in the first bus that comes in and see where it takes me! (Cleared a space for some extras to avoid doing another collage as my main image!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.