Local Windmill, Rockanje

'Rockanje' sounds roughly like 'Rok'-UN-yuh'.  NOT 'Rock-on-yea'.
The poor dear hasn't been given a formal name.  I'm tempted to call it 'The Roundabout' because it's smack in the middle of one.

There's an extra -- AW's choice.

This windmill has six predecessors, built in 1338, 1486, 1511, 1532, 1558, and 1627, respectively.  That last one stood for almost a hundred years, most likely until the Christmas Flood of 1717, which wiped out many villages and took thousands of lives.  This one was built almost immediately afterwards, in 1718.  As you can see, it's still there, just over 300 years old.

A beautiful day despite some clouds.  The cloud radar did its work again, and it is quite precise.  One simply needs to read it properly.  That said, clouds being clouds, one never knows for sure.

Some housework, some gaming.  I have not yet responded to the email from Randstad.  Maybe tomorrow...

In the meantime, one silver and two bronzes today, and Sifan Hassan won her semi-final 1500m race.  That woman is phenomenal.  It also takes some of the negative tension away from watching the race.  You can sit back and trust that she knows what to do and will do it, too.

There should be more days like today.  Everything at my own pace, practically no panic attacks (a common PTSD symptom), no negative thoughts.  I don't have to feel euphoric about anything, something that my therapist and I agreed on more than a decade ago.  The resulting balance is quite a relief and I can at least say now that I am enjoying my summer.

Thank you for viewing the mill in Goedereede with me!  And for all the stars and hearts, too!  I most definitely didn't expect that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.