Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Limestone Pavement

The forecast was iffy for our third and last day of walking. All three groups started in Malham. I was on the easiest, 8 + mile walk.

We walked gradually uphill to see Malham Cove from the side and above. It is a spectacular amphitheatre of limestone cliffs, 260 feet high. We had lunch high up, the gradually descended to walk on the limestone pavement on the top.

You can see a few people fairly near the edge. It was fairly windy and the rain started, but it was quite light.

The limestone quickly becomes slippery so I was pleased that the rain waited until our visit was over.  

It was fairly busy with other walkers and families on a day out. I was impressed by how many were from the BANE communities. You rarely see anyone of colour walking in Northumberland.

We walked to see Gordale Scar and Janet's Foss before descending to Malham. While we were at the pub it poured so that was OK.

Tomorrow I will drive home and need to avoid the traffic for the Appleby horse fair.

PS better on black.
PPS I processed this with Nik software after I returned home and I'm happier with the image now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.