Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Just ahead of the storm

The last part of my journey was along the Military Road which runs parallel to Hadrian's Wall Trail. I was just ahead of the rain as it swept from west to east. It was even hot and sunny when I arrived in Humshaugh, but bursts of heavy rain arrived and continued intermittently all afternoon.

Breakfast was the time to say goodbye to new friends and acquaintances in Malham. I left before 0900 and had an easy journey north west to join the M6 motorway. I wanted to avoid the travellers' caravans as they headed from all directions to Appleby for the Horse Fair.

I called in to Maureen and Brian's in Haltwhistle to see them. Brian was there but Maureen was out for a walk with our friend Ann. I kept quiet when they returned and you can see Ann's reaction when she came into the lounge. It was lovely to see them and catch up. 

Back home to hear that Mum's carer has been poorly but they did not let me know. All seems to have gone quite well despite this. 

We have caught up on Only Connect and will watch Uni Challenge tomorrow. Life is rapidly returning to normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.