Watching

Basketball this evening.   Fun!

Thank you for all the words of encouragement and support yesterday.  It's nice to report that the immediate crisis in care in Birmingham has been resolved after a flurry of emails and phone calls today.   The bigger issue of joint funding remains.   I have a lot of compassion for the Social Workers and their teams, the workload is huge, especially so in deprived inner city areas.    Ruth's social worker is always lovely when we talk or 'meet' online and the manager I spoke to today likewise, warm and compassionate herself.   
"I couldn't do your job," I said.
"I'm not sure how much longer I can," the reply and then a laugh.    
It's not just the service users who sometimes get mangled by the system :-/

The emails and calls filled almost all my time before we set off for basketball.   It was good to share the news about her care hours with Ruth before we left and to chat briefly later.   She'd been sailing this afternoon, something that has been facilitated thanks to the extra care hours.   These occasional social outings are so important and she cannot achieve them without support at present.   

The only down side to basketball is that I can only work afterwards but we don't get back until about 930pm.   All done now but I've an early start in the morning - a days guarding awaits :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.