carliewired

By carliewired

Up with the Sun

To enjoy the dawn
without smoke is a pleasure
beyond description

~ carliewired

I left home at 6 heading for Riverside Park downtown. I could see some clouds in the sky but the air was cool and almost smoke-free. I parked by the tennis courts to walk to the pier. There was nobody to be seen. 

I was able to catch sunrise over my mountains from the pier. A young man came along with a plastic cooler and a fishing rod and set himself up at the end of the pier. He said he hoped to catch some trout today. 

By the pier I caught my first Ruddy duck of the year. This little female was ploughing through the water all by herself. These ducks are hard to spot because they like to hunt at night. In the days they tuck themselves away and sleep. They must be the vampires of the duck world. 

I was pleased to see the red food truck parked by the concession. This family-owned business lost this truck to a thief one night in late July. Fortunately, they put the word out over social media so it was shortly recovered and a suspect was caught. 
https://www.kamloopsthisweek.com/news/stolen-pizza-truck-recovered-suspect-arrested-1.24345475

Joggers were soon out on the Rivers Trail before the day heats up. We can expect a high of 29 C today with a mix of sun and cloud. Air quality is 2. (low risk) The week is supposed to heat up. All that moisture gained from our recent rains will soon be lost. Our wildfires continue. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.