A Pigeon Came Calling

One of my neighbours walked past with his dogs this morning and for some reason a pigeon (which had obviously been on the ground in my garden came crashing against the window.
I have no idea why it got the scare because (for once) the dogs were quiet.
The pigeon wasn't when it hit the glass. How it didn't smash it I have no idea. I nearly had a heart attack.
As well at all the dust it left quite distinct feather marks.

SWMBO and I went back to Jupiter Artland this morning.
This has to be the least artistic piece I have seen (it is meant to be a crouching figure - but I don't see it). I tried to be a bit 'arty' with it by adding in the metalwork of the 3 bridges at South Queensferry. I failed. I think I need to try it with a long lens and better lighting.
One of the artworks is a stone cottage - a nice stone built building but a bit lacking in windows, which makes you a bit nervous stepping inside - especially when you work out what the floor is like (it is to contrast with the feeling of security a house normally gives apparently.)
Probably the most often seen pieces are the spookyfaceless girls ... I like them!
Past the temple and the Xth Muse there is a rather large shotgun (which may or may not be loaded ???). That is where Leo introduced himself to me - a very nice, polite and eloquent young lad. I asked him how he was enjoying the day and it was "Fine Thanks". I was about to get into a full conversation with him when his Mum insisted that he come back to her and stop getting in my way. I explained that he was not in any way getting in my way or disturbing me - but like the well behaved, polite lad he obviously is, he said his goodbyes and returned to her. I recon he was between 3 and 4 years old. 
The gun has all the fancy engraving on it by the way.

I was enjoying the peace and quite in the walled 'In Memory' art piece (through the narrow slit of an entrance) ... it is headstones with all the details on them - except names - with some lovely plantings.
The peace and quiet was soon disturbed by a load of people arriving.

We decided it was time to head back to the car - we can see the next instalment another day.

I did stop at the giant 'Spider Web' thing though. I think most people were missing it because it was really hard to see against the bright cornfield. My shot is from the field side looking into the darker wooded area.

Late afternoon we went round to see Squirrel and give her her birthday present. Where has the last 9 years gone?
She was told never to ask for a kitchen appliance for her birthday again - it just isn't done, but she has promised to use it for us. It is a waffle maker by the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.