The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Playday

The Queen of hearts she made some tarts... Wait a minute, I'm not the queen of hearts. Arts and farts maybe?

What a fab day we had, me and the two three year olds. First we made jam tarts and I gave the obligatory horsey-rides around the room. Then we made a picnic. Then one of the boys ate the picnic and the other yelled at me because his sandwiches were wrong. Then we took the double buggy with the flat tyre up the steep, narrow pavements of Stroud until we found a shop that sold more picnic-fodder. We carried on to the park near my house, where the boys played happily and didn't mind the rain. Eventually we went to my house to let everyone use the loo and meet our cat! Then the boys wanted to stay, so we made some shell-gardens in seed trays in the front garden. We took the shells to the park again, and eventually back to their house. The boys were tired out.

Grandparents arrived with the older boy, so I left them to it and walked uphill, looking for a red croc shoe that had fallen off the buggy earlier. Found it, stuffed it in a lunchbox, continued to the market where it took me ages to set up my stall for tomorrow. Walked home with a strong sense of deja vu, minus the double buggy.

Checked my emails. There were important things that I should have responded to, as ever. Then Christmas stock (2021) to think about. I had a ready made tuna salad, a cereal bar and one of those chocolate provamel thingies that are strangely addictive. The tubs are also good for small amounts of paint, glitter, and so on, so that is a good-enough reason to eat them.

Now I've had a bath. You'll notice that I did not mention the garden once. Suffice it to say that I felt the back garden was safe enough to allow the two boys here today, with supervision. We have regained some play space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.