Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Copper underwing

Found on the floor in our bedroom this morning.  Sadly deceased, but rather pretty, so I thought it deserved a few minutes of fame before I put it outside for the birds.  

Despite the fact that this is not a particularly rare moth, it took me a good hour to identify it - many of the internet moth sites don't seem to have any photos, and didn't include it in their search.  Once I had a likely identity, it was then possible to confirm this by more specifically searching for that species.

There are two closely related species - Copper underwing (Amphipyra pyramidea) and Svensson's copper underwing (Amphipyra berbera).  Judging from the photos on this website, I think this specimen is the former.

I've added two extra photos, one featuring my fingers to show the top of the underwing, and the other of the underside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.