Civil War and Blue Ridge Mts.

I went to the Battlefield of Richmond, Kentucky.  The name of this farm is Pleasant View.  It wasn't a plantation because Kentucky was in the Union.  Walking around, on the ground that men  died  gave me a deep connection what this country did to maintain a country and freedom to all.   As I looked over all the fields that Union Soldiers charged up to drive out the Confederates,  I felt like I could hear the guns firing, the cannons booming, the men yelling and charging.  The fields were silent.   But the blood had been spilt, consecrating this ground.
Extra 1:  This is Pleasant View Home, above the hills.  It is beautiful!   The main Blip is the view from the front porch, looking east.   Only one of the many stunning views.
3:  The entrance to the root cellar....
4. One of the farm outbuildings, only with electric modifications.  tractors, other farm equipment are stored in there.
Last extra: Another one of the Pleasant Views....
Going to these consecrated battlefields has become a very moving act for me, as I grow older and learn to cherish everything these men fought for and gave us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.