A time for everything

By turnx3

Out kayaking again!

Friday
The temperatures were a little cooler today, and the forecast looked pretty good, so we had decided to go kayaking this afternoon, once Laura was finished with work at 1pm. About midday, a pop up shower sprang up from nowhere, but fortunately it disappeared as quickly as it arrived. We had been planning to go to Cowan Lake to see the American Lotus flowers, but because of the uncertainty of the weather, we changed our minds and went to Miami Whitewater instead. This was the first time I tried kayaking, since I broke my two fingers, but I was fine - I still don’t have a tight grip, but my thumb, index finger and little finger worked OK., just occasionally I had to put in an extra stroke on the left hand to straighten up! We took it in turns on the kayaks, I went out first, together with Laura, then Roger and I switched, and I sat and read my book. There were some American lotus flowers as you can see in my collage, but not as many or as good specimens as at Cowan Lake, but still very pretty. As usual, there were quite a number of great blue herons around, and of course several mallard ducks. This evening we took Laura to one of our favourite restaurants, Phoenician Taverna, a Lebanese restaurant, for her seal of approval! She agreed it was very good and authentic! I’ve enclosed an extra of the appetizer sampler plate we all shared!
Step count: 4,942

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.