A time for everything

By turnx3

Evening at the Flashes

Saturday August 13
This morning Roger had a fairly early start to go meet Laura at the airport, flying in from Chicago. She had driven down from Wausau Wisconsin the evening before and spent the night in a hotel. After breakfast the three of us plus Janet and Bernard drove to Anderton and Neumann flashes. However when we initially left the house, I thought we were just going for a neighbourhood walk, and didn’t take my camera. The last time we went, we hadn’t seen a great deal, so I decided not to bother going back for it. So of course this morning we had some great sightings! At this one hide, there was a family of moorhens, with tiny chicks just underneath the hide. We saw a couple of water rails, which I had never seen before, with a juvenile, again right below the hide. A little further afield were about half a dozen curlews, and literally about a hundred or more lapwings. I was so frustrated and mad at myself for not having my camera. When we got back we had a light salad lunch, then Laura decided to get a few hours sleep, since she’d not had any on the plane. Roger and I went into Warrington, to take a pair of my shoes to be re-heeled and soled. They’re a pair of black dress shoes which I wear quite a bit, and I’ve had them for years, but they’re so comfortable, I want to extend their life, rather than buy a new pair. I had tried the local shoe repair place we have used before, but it was their summer holiday, but Janet told us of this place in Warrington Market. When we got back, it was a lovely late afternoon/early evening, and dinner was going to be quite late, so we decided to return to the Flashes, with my camera, and see what we could see! Typically, it was nowhere near as good as the morning, but I got a nice sunset shot across the water, and several captures of the baby moorhens, and one shot of the water rail disappearing into the reeds!
Step count: 11,841

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.