carliewired

By carliewired

Poor Visibility

There is no long view
this morning...the smoke settled
into our valleys

~ carliewired

I drove across the bridge and onto Mission Flats by 6 AM. It is a dismal morning for photography as the city is completely socked in with wildfire smoke. I was not hopeful that I could find anything worthwhile to see. 

To my delight, a lovely mule deer appeared on the roadside. I stopped and took a photo through my front windshield. No matter that the glass is not clean as all vision is hampered anyway! I am able to get rather close with my hybrid car. It does not make the usual noise a combustion motor makes. Wildlife view me rather curiously unless I roll down a window and they suddenly hear my car radio. Then, they bolt when they hear human sounds. 

I drove to the end of the public road, turned around and came back to the spot where I can see across the Thompson River to the airport control tower. All seemed rather quiet there this morning. I believe this poor air quality will affect air traffic today. 

As I drove back to the bridge, another mule deer was feasting on the greenery beside the road. I got very close. She kept an eye on me and continued feeding. Looking at those big ears, you can understand why they are called mule deer. 

I headed for home with a short stop to collect my morning coffee and a few groceries. I treated myself to a bag of beautiful cherries which I may well have for breakfast. 

It's back to the sorting in the garage today. It will save me having to look outside. 

It is to be another warm day with a high of 35 C and the air quality index right off the scale. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.