Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Masterpiece?

When I went to paint pottery with my sister, I chose this jar because it was one of the less expensive items and I thought it would be easy.  I thought the totem face was pretty silly but I liked the other side (extra) and I thought I could turn it that way on my work table and keep scissors and rulers, etc. in it.  Well, as it turns out, I'm not really happy with either side.  I painted the background first and it was a real pain going around everything.  It needed two more coats but I decided one would suffice,  thus all the streaks.  Then, the brown I chose was way too dark for both  the tree trunks and the totem so the detail I added didn't show after firing.  Same with the palm trees.  I won't even mention the sloppy painting job.  I usually do much better than this!  Oh well, it will still be used as planned and it makes a good Silly Saturday blip.  Thinking of Admirer today. xx

We got up early this morning and finished packing the camper and securing everything for travel.  We were done by 9 AM and it was already getting hot.  Glad we did it because it's 97 F now.  I absolutely swear I won't complain about the cold when winter finally gets here.  I'm so, so tired of the heat!! 

All I have left now to pack are my cameras and computer and to make sure I have chargers for all our electronics.  Then, a few last minute things like watering plants and cleaning out the refrigerator and we'll be all set.  

I suspect I won't have much time for blip and I might just save all my shots to backblip.  I'm going to try to choose photos and type my journal entries in Word for each day and then all I have to do is post them when we get home.  Trying to be online up there has been a challenge this year.  I don't know if something changed but my phone seems to work just fine.  Anyway, thank you to everyone for your visits and for the stars and hearts on my blips.  I do appreciate them and I apologize in advance if I don't keep up with your journals while I'm away. xx

I am grateful that we'll be leaving in about 14 hours! :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.