Gala Weekend

So busy!    So busy that I hardly found time to take a picture.   It's Awdry Weekend with all the engines carrying the names that Reverend Awdry gave them when he wrote the Talyllyn into his Isle of Sodor railway stories.   Of course, Thomas the Tank Engine is the most famous but the Skarloey Railway features in a series of his books, the stories often lifted from his own experiences as a volunteer here in the 1950's.   The beer and gin festival has been so well attended that it's likely all the beer will be drunk before tomorrow is out while the Gin Masterclass Excursion Train tonight was a sell-out.   

My day started with a stop at Wharf to check the state of things in my domain.  A lot of people inevitably means a lot of rubbish so I was kept busy with three cleaning sessions during the day.   I also worked at Abergynolwyn Cafe for the afternoon, returning while the Gin Train was in and staying on to replenish the sandwiches and do the end of day clean down.  In all I was on duty for over 11 hours .... haven't worked so hard since my management career came to an abrupt end in 2015 when family crises hit a new level.   I was a heap of fun although the wrap-around rain this evening meant I arrived home somewhat bedraggled!

More of the same tomorrow but definitely not such long hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.