A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Royalty

I had just commented yesterday to fellow blipper debsdad about not seeing many butterflies this summer, and then this happened :) I’m beyond thrilled, and so enjoyed watching this female butterfly flutter to and fro between various milkweed plants and two varieties of butterfly bushes. I’m pretty sure she was laying eggs on the milkweed. Fingers crossed for success since I have not seen one Monarch cat this summer • I googled how these butterflies got their common name: the sight of this butterfly so impressed early settlers who came to N. America from Holland and England, they named it Monarch after King William III, Prince of Orange, state holder of Holland. He would later be named King of England • Everything in google must be true…lol! I hope you’ve had a Royal Day too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.