Marionb

By Marionb

Is that a boxcar I see before me?

No - it's a BAR! 

I drove past our local  Station Gallery ( my March 6 blip) early this morning and was bedazzled by this new addition in the parking lot!  One never knows what to expect at the gallery. It was originally an old railroad station that they converted into an art gallery and then added an old railroad boxcar as one of its studios.. The boxcar eventually rusted out and had to be removed..so I was curious about this new big painted storage container that had managed to avoid my notice until today..

After taking some photos of it - for blipping purposes of course - I went in to the gallery to find out just what it was..well, yes it is a storage container but they have converted it into a BAR!  

It will be used for special events - the side opens up and voila! You have a fully equipped bar! It also has studio lighting for musical evenings so a band can set up inside! Now, is that not a great idea? But what can you expect from creative, artistic folks who run an art gallery?  Apparently it was just painted yesterday so no wonder I had not noticed it before. Can't wait to see it in use! 

While there, I picked up a free quarterly local magazine I had never heard of called Wunderlit which features paintings, drawings photography, 3D art, stories and animation, all done by community members in partnership with an organization I had never heard of either - The LivingRoom Community Art Studio. This issue was celebrating the visual work of Durham College art students of 2021. I gather that Wunderlit is based in Oshawa, and I chuckled at the last paragraph of their promo in the back of the magazine answering the question Why this magazine?  "Because there are amazingly talented people creating amazing things in places you thought could only produce cars, hockey players and bad news." Bingo!  

So, I discovered three new things before breakfast! What a day! Now, on with the packing - am heading to the cottage tomorrow morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.