A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Flying Lobster

I blipped this Snowberry Clearwing Moth during the recent AOG but when I saw it again today I couldn’t resist sharing it. At least it’s a different pose but it is on the same butterfly bush which we’ve nicknamed Brunhilda, by the way • The Snowberry is a type of hummingbird moth, is active during the day, and is a pollinator of flowers. It actually does look similar to a hummingbird in flight, but it’s also earned another nickname due to its appearance - “Flying Lobster”, which I find humorous living in Maine. For those who don’t know, eating lobster is why many tourists flock to Maine each summer. It’s what we’re famous for • Another sighting captured my attention today - a second Monarch caterpillar is currently munching on a different milkweed plant than the one I discovered yesterday. Woo-hoo! MrsP was as happy as I to learn we have two more cats to look after • Be well and keep joy in your hearts no matter what!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.