Vortex

How many times do you have a photo that doesn’t fit the criteria for the daily challenge? For me it is many.  I have just returned from blipping my worm tea vortex with my iPhone and I think it almost fits the challenge Ingeborg has set, without even knowing what it was. ( Abstract, ICM using phone camera)

I must explain. I have a worm farm, that is where you add your kitchen scraps and some bedding and worms and they eat through the material making worm castings which are fabulous for the garden. Brian, the worm man, says that if you suspend some castings into water and add an air pump ( like in an aquarium) it makes a tea for the garden. If you don’t have an air pump stir the solution vigorously until you make a vortex (that aerates the tea). If you think I have gone bonkers ( that may be true ) it is similar to the biodynamic practices devised by Rudolph Steiner ( preparation 501 which I have had great success with). 

When your worms have eaten all the waste you can harvest it by placing it in the sun. The worms try to evade the light so you can scrape the top layer of casting from the pile. I am quite passionate about my worm farm. About 25 years ago we went to an all day worm farm training session (with my sister MsPeahen). I have had them pretty much ever since. A great pet(s) but they are not named. 

So I did my compost heap on Tuesday and  my worm farm today. And it’s only day 5 of our lockdown. 

We have our first official Covid case here in town since last March 2020. The person is an inmate in the maximum security jail so he won’t be worrying us. However many guards and staff work at the prison so I’m hoping they all follow the Covid safety guidelines as we don’t want it to spread into town. 

Sydney has seen another daily record day…..some people want tighter restrictions but I feel that those who follow the stay at home orders are doing their part, and those who break the rules would just break the rules even if they were tighter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.