The Field Daisy

I'm a pretty little thing,
Always coming with the spring;
In the meadows green I'm found,
Peeping just above the ground,
And my stalk is cover'd flat
With a white and yellow hat.

Little Mary, when you pass
Lightly o'er the tender grass,
Skip about, but do not tread
On my bright but lowly head,
For I always seem to say,
"Surely winter's gone away." - Ann Taylor

I was searching for either lyrics or a poem and came across this poem by Ann Taylor. Ann Taylor is my mother's maiden name. Very apt. She could probably rustle up a poem about Daisies if I gave her a little time. I had a lovely Old English Sheepdog called Daisy, not forgetting the gorgeous Daisy, the Basset hound puppy who weed in my lap just recently. They're not actually field daisies, they were growing on a neighbours allotment.
Another productive morning on the plot. ... Finished topping up the bark chip paths around the beds on my plot, pruned the blackcurrant bushes. Made 5 pots x 6 cuttings. Fingers crossed they will take. I'll keep one pot for myself, the others can go in the plant sale if they root. Picked 2 punnets of French beans, a handful of runners, sowed a row of bok choi, built up a barricade around the row of beans I planted last week. The pheasant have been snacking. GRH!!!  Watered everything, which was just as well because the rain forecast did'nt arrive. Found some fine netting to cover my brassica's .. Tiz a challenge to be sure. :-D
Home for lunch, avo on toast, then off to Bovey Tracey for a walk with GinJan. I can't remember the last time we had a catch up. Did a good circular walk coming back through BT so that I could look for beansprouts. Hubby wants his weekly Thai pork noodle soup .. It's a bit of a fag to make a special journey to a supermarket to bean sprouts. I'm wondering if I could grow my own. That can be my next job Google growing BS. I bought a timer for Mum to use when she's boiling beetroot etc. on the stove. A suggestion made by Sue. Thank you :-)
Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday #ICM

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.