Capital adventures

By marchmont

Memories are made of this!

A year late Mum and I had our day out on the PS Waverley.  It was a long day, leaving before 9 to be in Largs for 11 and not back till nearly 10 p.m.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't great - cool, breezy and a smidgeon of rain mid afternoon.  However, we did get seats in the observation lounge and that meant Mum could sit in comfort and see the coast go by.

The ship was quite busy.  I have been on the Waverley before, though I can't remember when - at least 45 years ago!  The first stop was Rothesay and the  through the Kyles of Bute to Tighnabruaich.  I was out on deck as we sailed through the Kyles as many years ago (1964 to be precise) I spent my first Guide camp at Rhubodach, on these very green fields beyond the yachts.  We returned to the same spot a few years later.  I remember taking the ferry across to Colintraive.  Today's ferry is a lot bigger!

After my nostalgia fest we had lunch and I had a look at the engines, very impressive.  Then it was Tarbert before the Loch Fyne cruise almost to Ardrishaig.  Unfortunately the cloud was well down during that part of the journey so it was hard to see anything.

The weather as improved as we came back through the Kyles with the sun shining on Colintraive.

The journey home was marked by the total ineptitude and inefficiency of whichever section manages N Ayrshire's car parks (a letter will follow), roadworks and a breakdown on the M8 in Glasgow and more roadworks and a diversion at the Edinburgh end of the M8 but the sky and the views were beautiful and the moon was amazing just hanging in the sky.

A really good day out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.