Capital adventures

By marchmont

Hanging out

Started off by doing some Apex admin for a meeting that has now been postponed.  Before I knew it it was time to set off for The Stand.  I keep miscalculating how long the buses are going to take but luckily I was in good time for Mark Thomas. 

I've seen him a few times and this year there was no theme but he is still very funny and very political.  I laughed, a lot, but some of it is no longer funny, it is just so dire given the state of our country.  But I did not cough, thanks to the free water.

I then headed to the College of Art (my grandfather studied there) to hang out at the Book Festival.  A glass of rose Prosecco went down very well.  I'd have liked an ice cream but once I had a 'comfy' seat it seemed I'd have to pass on that.  The deal is you can sit outside for free and watch one of the events on the big screen.  I saw the tale end of one event and then the whole of the Jenni Fagan, Sally Magnusson interview.  As the audience came up on the screen at the start I was taken aback to spot a weel kent face, Laura Muir, in the front row of the paying audience. At the end I was able to have a quick catch up with her and fellow blippers  hazelh and Ridgeback 13.  I also had a quick word with Sara Sheridan about the Elsie Inglis campaign. 

And there was a cat, on a lead, enjoying itself immensely.  He left sitting on the shoulder of his owner.  I left to walk across the Meadows to feed my furbaby 'grandson' who is almost friendly.  After a wee rest it was back across the Meadows, past Lady Findhorn's gaffe (of whom there was no sign), to meet up with B and M in Holyrood 9A.  Haven't seen them since 2019!

We had a great evening of catching up with a slight interruption from a very joyous group who had just graduated from their Access course and will be off to Edin Uni in a few weeks.  Well done!.

It was a good day and tomorrow there is a delivery to look forward to 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.