Bountiful beans and stunning sunflowers!

These are the runner bean plants in my small garden. The canes are too short, and it is all sliding sideways with the weight, but I can't bring myself to nip out the tops. In fact they have grown so tall now, I can't reach the tops. They have climber around my sunflowers, searching for the light. This is my best cropping vegetable and I find it satisfying being able to freeze the beans as you can't do that with all veg.

The sunflowers are part of a team challenge. I planted 4 sunflowers, 1 for me and 3 on behalf of colleagues without gardens. I think I told you that before. Well the sunflower in the middle at the back is well in the lead now at over 11 feet. It's proving quite difficult to measure it, and I need to be on a ladder. When this last sunflower blooms, I will do the final measurements. The others I have are being pulled forwards by the beans.

I have also cut the lilies down and disposed of all the leaves, petals and stalks. All this after a long day at work. Vaguely productive, although still a lot that I would normally have done today I have to leave until Monday.

Feeling tired tonight, so I think an early night with my book is the plan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.