Capital adventures

By marchmont

Venue 33

Another day of 'no swim'. I probably could have fitted it in but I am just so tired. It was a lovely morning, sunshine, and there was warmth in the sun so I headed jacketless to the coiffeur. That is always 2 hours of relaxation and chat. Discovered that J is also a Jonathan Pie fan so he may profit if I do get away.

By the time I came out at noon the thick cloud had returned but it wasn't cold. For the first time in 21 months I was on a very busy bus, #26, as I headed to George St to find somewhere for lunch and somewhere to write my intro. I really hope all these outside eating pods stay. I had lunch in one, in Hanover St and scribbled my notes in between mouthfuls of Italian food.

A phoned to say he'd gone to the wrong venue (!) and then as I crossed Princes St L phoned to say Sir Harry had left and they were ready for me. I took 3 takes and it is hard not having an audience but it is done. I may not watch on 'The Night' though.

The town was busy. Being Friday it looked like many were weekend visitors. But few foreign accents, unless you count Geordie and Welsh as foreign. The hotels and restaurants will be pleased with the increased numbers.

I wandered up to The Pleasance. Usually at this time if year it is heaving. There were folk in the Courtyard but it didn't appear there were any shows on till around 5. The bored security guard said they were glad to be back but would get as many in the whole month as they normally get in a day.

Walked round by our two Choir venues as I got the word today we are set to start back in person on 15th September. I sent out the email tonight.

In by Cameron Toll to buy, almost, too much for carrying by hand (wine & beer for Sunday and milk) and collect my spare specs. No leaving in the heat for them.

It was very cloudy and threatening drizzle by the time I got home. There was a toppled flower pot and a lot of white fur in the back garden. Evidence of a cat fight but Willow is fine. I chopped back the blowsy blue geranium and then sat outside with the laptop until the rain forced me in.

A very late meal, some emails about work and a French film, another piece of necessary mindless fluff. Before that caught most of 'Gardeners' World' but I'll have to go back to it as I came in halfway through JJ's item on RGBE. The aerial shots of the cottage and attached community garden area gave you a real sense of the place.

Replies are starting to arrive from the Choir. So far only one person who is too risk averse to return. Though I respect the decision life not going out and getting involved is not sustainable especially when vaccinations have dramatically reduced the risks of severe illness. But then when it comes to Covid-19 I am the opposite of risk averse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.