The 'Groeneveld' Windmill, Schipluiden

Thanks for all the stars for yesterday's shot!

'Groeneveld' sounds like 'GrOO-nuh-veld' (literally, 'green field').

Did say yesterday that I wanted to return to the Korpershoek to retake the lost shots, and, really, I was sorry to lose them, so that's what I did first on the hunt today -- replace those shots.  The lesson is not to cut and paste, but copy and paste, and then delete only if the upload was successful.  Common sense, of course, but cut and paste had always worked before.  New memory card, new rules, I guess.

Was already in Schipluiden so I decided to visit the other windmill there, the existence of which I did not know about until I looked up the area a few days ago.  It is never the intention to visit the same town or village twice or more in a row, but I was there already anyway.  This second one was really outside the village, in the middle of the polder.  Not familiar with the area, and a truck blocked the entrance of the street, so I had to park elsewhere.  The main road is a terrifically busy road, and straight on has right of way, so if you're coming from a side road, much patience needed.  Ended up about 1.5 km. from the windmill, but with such lovely weather I did not mind the walk at all.

I had already taken a number of shots when the two boats came into view, one each from either direction, so I decided to wait till they met.  A lot of shouted greetings and some waving, and it was all done in a bit, but that was fun to shoot!  You can see how high the dikes are, one on either side of the canal.  The windmill is on one dike, and the land on either side much lower than the water.  You can imagine how much damage would result if one of the dikes gave way.  The road I was on is on the left of the shot and I had to climb the dike to shoot.  Very, very thankful that someone put a small foot bridge close by.

Back home, the usuals -- some housework, loads of gaming, and the Burgundians.  AW had his bridge evening online, but the Tuesday group might start meeting for live bridge starting next week.  Everyone has been vaccinated, and no one has died, so I guess it's all good.  We both hope so, anyway.  Told AW to bring his mask, just in case.  He has his jab papers permanently in his wallet, should they need to be produced.  Yes, life goes on.

To all the Afghan refugees who have now landed here -- WELKOM!  Wij zijn blij dat jullie veilig zijn aangekomen!  Welkom in Nederland!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.