1894

For ages I’ve wanted to try and visit this shipwreck off the Bispham coast. You can only see it at low tide and to find it you need to look out to sea after you get to the ‘Little Bispham’ tram stop which can be found on the prom. The sand there is muddy and sinks a bit in places so you have to be a bit careful. It was quite iffy to walk all the way around it so my photos were a bit limited.

In 1894 this boat, The Abana was shipwrecked. It had set off from Norway and was heading to Florida with a load of basalt. The ship originally had 3 masts/ sets of sails.

All of the crew together with the ship’s dog and cat were rescued. The lifeboat had to be pulled 4 miles up the road by a load of horses before it could be used in it’s destination- how times have changed!

This is not one of my better photos but it shows the size of the ship. I rather like how the ribs cage of the ship poke up and seem to be a favourite resting place for seagulls.

I walked about 10 miles today

I drank champagne on the North Pier (again)

We had chips, mushy peas, gravy and a barmcake for lunch (with lashings of vinegar).

A good but somewhat tiring day. I was ready to sit down by 9pm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.