Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Getting older

Because of everything else going on today I went early to the reserve.  The nasty biting insects are still there (I have the marks to prove it) so it must still be summer, but otherwise autumn seemed very much in the air: reeds have reached maximum size, beautiful but soaked in dew; the flowers, are overwhelmingly late ones - purple loosestrife, hemp agrimony and dots of bright gold fleabane; and I even saw swashes of yellow willow leaves flicking down on the paths.

Then by midmorning it was hot and full on summer again.

In Extras is a shot of the moon - yes, taken last night so not at the full or on the date it should be under.  It's not a particularly good moon shot either, just a moment I wanted to record in my journal.

From lunchtime today I've been helping at an old folks' party, a lovely though fairly challenging thing to do.  But it's good to see so many coming out to a social event after all this time.  I think the virus and lockdowns have probably been harder on them than any other group.

Finally, returning to the subject of wildflowers, I'm afraid we have to think soon about packing away the challenge for the winter. So unless any NZ/Aussie blipper would like to take it over for the next few months, I plan to wind up in a couple of weeks with WildflowerWeek21_24 being the last one for 2021.  And with my computer being doctored tonight I shall have to put back announcing the results of WildflowerWeek21_21 until tomorrow

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.