Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Escaped and wild

Red bistort, persicaria amplexicaulis
Marsh woundwort, stachys palustris

I liked these reds and pinks together.  Both found on my walk by the river today.

The red spike is, I think, a garden escape, persicaria amplexicaulis or red bistort, but I found it a long way from any garden, which raises the interesting question of at what point a 'garden escape' becomes a wild flower.  And the opposite.  When does a wild flower (like the marsh woundwort) become a garden one if grown by green-fingered humans?

I guess there may be a lot of answers to that.  Meanwhile I have to confess my main reason for blipping these together was just that I liked them like that.

Not a lot else to report so I won't waffle on.  Wishing you a happy Thursday evening/Friday morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.