Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Teasel

Dipsacus fullonum

This afternoon I had a long walk up the Itchen Navigation.  Passing Compton Lock I couldn't help remembering our kids swimming there when small.  There were lots of kids today too.  However, despite the large hint in the lock's name, it took me much longer to realise that this was a canal, not a branch of the river. It doesn't look like a canal, the banks are shallow and riverine and the water flows at quite a speed.  As I turned a bend a kingfisher shot out practically from under my feet and I watched the streak of electric blue down to the next bend.  I also had fun trying to get flying shots of a buzzard, but was disappointed by the lack of butterflies and damselflies. There was quite a breeze, don't know if that had anything to do with the no-shows.

Today's blip was taken on the bank further along towards Winchester,
where a clump ot teasels were flicking in and out of the sunlight. It struck me I'd never looked down on a flowering teasel before.

Talking of flowers, below are the delayed results of WildflowerWeek21_21.  Thanks for your patience.

xx

RESULTS of WildflowerWeek21_21
HEARTS will be given out later tonight to:
JanetMayes
Pleach
AngelsShare
Treshnish
Ninniex

Hon Mentions to:
13South
Mole
QuerkyPoo
Tweedy
Energia

and my thanks to you all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.