Crossing the bridge

A while ago I was contacted by a lady that thought that she was a distant relative.  We were going to meet but the pandemic put paid to that but today she came to my house to chat about it.

It turns out that her great-great grandmother was the youngest sister of my great-great grandfather.  She went away into service just over the border into Wales when she was young and never returned to Shropshire  .

The similarities were uncanny.  She lives just a few miles from my brother, we were both teachers, both mothers were chapel organists, her husband's cousin is a boy that used to pull my plaits when I was at primary school, I taught with her best friend, we have friends in common, she plays piano and guitar and I play piano and concertina and we're both going to Shrewsbury Folk Festival at the weekend (we're going to meet up there).

She said that she couldn't stop looking at me as I have the same eyes as her grandad as well as the same shaped face.  

What an amazing thing to happen!

After all that excitement I just went to the castle for a blip which is a shadow of the bridge that leads to the castle tower with someone walking along it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.