A Piece of Cake

Pat is very much better today, which is great news. The weather is better and the sun is shining.

Perhaps some gardening later on.

Is There Any Scandal? I am referring to yesterday’s entry.

Was there any in our Parish?

After we moved into our new home, I received invitations from various groups "to tell our story" about the work we did to convert the church building into our home.

I knew that the records of the Kirk Session were now held at the University of St Andrews. I spent a day in the library going through several decades of minutes to find any reference regarding the construction of the building.

Surprisingly, there was nothing beyond one reference to meeting for the first time in new vestry.

However, in answer to the question posed yesterday there was much scandal to occupy the Session! This occurred in the years 1820 to 1843.

Each meetings records the names of several members of the congregation whose behaviour was deemed "scandalous".

I can do no better than refer you to Rabbie Burns and his poem
Holy Willie’s Prayer

The heinous offences were carefully recorded, however, I suspect that much of these heinous offences are occurring today throughout the land.

I just smiled and put the records away. The names are safe with me, because I did not record them

Today’s Blipfoto is of the latest cake which Pat has baked and laid on the table in the glass container.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.