Wedding Day Friday 27th August

Posting this on Saturday morning as yesterday was so busy I didn't have any time to go online.

Neil got back to our room at 3am Friday morning  after spending time with " the lads"..... his friends from Newcastle who are staying in the hotel lodges.   And, true to form, he was up at 6am to go for a run with an old schoolfriend.   I had booked us in for 9am breakfast and he was back in time to join me.  

He got ready and I took a photo before he left.   Then I spotted him outside my hotel window with his best man and groomsman so took a quick photo.  My corsage arrived and that's in my collage too as well as a selfie before I left for the church.      As there's a social media ban on posting any of the actual wedding photos at the moment this is the best I can do today. Hopefully I can add some extras in the coming days when it's OK to do so.

The whole day was wonderful. The bride looked fabulous and the church service was lovely.

We came back to the hotel afterwards for afternoon tea. Scones, jam, cream and shortbread biscuits.    Then the official photograper took all the photos of the newlyweds plus  family.  The weather was warm and sunny so we all stood outside for the photos.

The reception was perfect.  Great food and friendly people. Neil did well with his speech.   When the happy couple went to cut the cake everyone moved forward to take photos and I noticed a black and white photograph on the table..... a collage of different faces including Douglas.  Turns out Rachael had put it together to show all the important people in their lives who had passed away and couldn't be at the wedding. It was such a good idea.

In the evening there was a live band, lots of dancing and drinking.   Not a lot of conversation due to the loud music.  Fish and chips appeared at one point....... but I was still full from the meal so gave them a miss.  

Finally wandered up to my room around midnight and was up again this morning for 8.30am breakfast.   My brother and sister in law will be here later to collect me and we will drive to Portrush to stay the night there.  Giants Causeway here we come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.