John Knox

Monday morning comes around far too quickly.   I struggled to get out of my bed, but was still determined to go out for a walk.  It was grey and didn’t look too promising, and there was some dampness in the air, but it didn’t seem to come to anything.
 
Work was work.  Not much else to say about it.  I was cold today, but couldn’t bring myself to put my heater on in August.  I just put another layer on.  Hopefully this is not a sign of things to come.  My lunchtime bowl of soup warmed me up, and a quick lunchtime walk also helped.  I spent the afternoon working on something I know absolutely nothing about.  I have got something down on paper now.  Hopefully I can improve it tomorrow and then get some inputs from colleagues.
 
I ended up on tea tonight, so we had a mash up of a couple of recipes from the Roasting Tin, using up what I had available – including a courgette.  Later BB had football training and I went for a quick walk in the dark.  There is talk of a step challenge at work throughout September,  It will motivate me to get out as the night’s draw in.
 
This is John Knox.  I found this out about it:

John Knox, born in Haddington c. 1514. Notoriously a joyless zealot of the Reformation, Laura has painted him in flowery robes and daisy chain crown, encircled with one of his quotes, "I am a worm of this earth". He's surrounded by botanical illustrations, including the auricula and carnation, representing the ancient Fraternity of Gardeners of East Lothian who held competitions for cultivating the best specimens.

"A gentle poke at the patriarchy, and a nod to Haddington in Bloom - the opposite of joyless - who colour the town today with beautiful plants and know the value of a good earthworm!"

The green area is an outline East Lothian, and the pin on Knox's chest is where Haddington would be be on the map.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.