Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

For the toast

117 clean and sparkling champagne flutes are on the central island in my kitchen, waiting for Sunday's toast. (Why 117? Because 3 were chipped on arrival.)

It's been quite a hectic day. Just when I think I have sorted something, another challenge appears. I had enjoyed seeing all the people who came today (well nearly).

Some villagers brought garden chairs to supplement the seating.

People brought cards and presents. (It is a no present do, but people must be able to express themselves how they wish.)

Ian came and was happy I had borrowed wire cutters for him. He brought a metal ramp which is very strong and will take Mum in her wheelchair with no difficulty.

Alistair came and we reviewed the places where cars can be parked. "How many cars?" he asked. I did not have a clue!

I washed and set Mum's hair. Must have her looking good on Sunday.

Margret brought trays on loan.

The Tesco delivery was at 4pm. It included three bags of ice to keep the champagne cool. I dashed into the boiler room to pop them in the extra freezer. As I opened the door, I was hit by a stench, mainly of rotten fish. The freezer plug was out. The last time anyone worked there was a good few weeks ago.

This was the lowest point of the day. I shut the door hastily and put the freezer on, thinking that might make it less disgusting to clean in due course.

I managed to find enough room in upstairs freezer for the ice.

Then I could not get the stench away from me. I stripped and changed. I scrubbed my hands again. Yuck!

Dick came and trimmed hedges. Ian came and removed the old fence. He will be back on Saturday to clear the last border and plant hostas there. Cutting it a bit fine, but it will be OK.

F and P came to give professional advice on the staging. Very helpful.

I finally managed to serve Mum her evening meal.

There was a ring on the doorbell. It was dark. It was the firm delivering the portaloo, in the dark. Did I have a trolley to move it on? NO I DID NOT.
It is in place now, so that is good.

I think that was all......

PS How could I forget: three guests have had falls and can’t come. Two in hospital this week, but one allowed home now. The third had broken her hand and has a bad ankle sprain. She can’t weight bear and has been sent home with no support bandage, no crutch, no commode and is stuck in bed.

PPS we have already raised over £1000 for PCDC and will collect more on Sunday. Brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.