Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Russet bracken

Another hot day today, it is such crazy inconsistent weather that we are having. On my morning walk Xena got so hot as she met a friend and they played for ages, wearing each other out. The woods are still very green other than the bracken, and I thought the sunlight on the bracken made it look so pretty and copper coloured. 

I finished parcelling up my box of gifts to go to South Africa and booked the courier - it is not something I have done before as the courier costs are almost more than the cost of the gifts, and then when it arrives in SA they have to pay stamp duty on it which is also very high. I cannot rely on the post, they will never get it, and as we have been unable to visit for so long now it is the only option for me.

The leader of the photo workshop that I am attending next week said that the hotel could not find a booking for me despite having confirmed it to him at the time of booking in January. The manager of the hotel has promised to rectify the situation but who knows if he will...it is a very good hotel too, not what one expects from a hotel like that, so we will wait and see what happens. I am booked in from when the workshop starts on Monday evening, but we planned to spend the weekend there as it is our wedding anniversary.

Adam experienced something different today - he was an extra on the film set of a new Amazon Prime series called Mammals that was filmed in Cambridge, and he got to meet Colin Morgan who stars in the show. He was paid to do a PCR test before coming on set, and then paid for the day although they finished filming this morning. 

Tonight the new season of our camera club starts, we are still meeting on zoom for the next quarter as the hall that is usually used is also used by elderly people and the council did not want us to use it to prevent any cross contamination. I find zoom very convenient so I don't mind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.