Argaty Red Kites #81

What a glorious day here in the Trossachs. In the morning we went to Loch Katrine which is a short walk away, had a walk along the water and then a short 45 minute cruise on the “Lady of the Lake”. It was just perfect weather and the scenery was stunning. 
After a snack for lunch we headed to Doune, a half hour car ride away, to see the Red Kites at Argaty. It’s a small feeding station with less than 20 kites at this time of year and apart from having to stand out under the blazing sun for over an hour, it was fabulous! My main camera had a complete meltdown for some reason that I couldn’t fathom, so I am glad I brought my small camera. I guess it did quite well, but I’d have preferred my other one to have worked! Zooming in with this one loses too much detail. 
Anyway, it was magnificent - 7 small groups of mainly couples, all outside socially distanced, watching these wonderful birds doing their thing overhead. and just watching in awe. They only dropped a small bucket of mainly offal, but the kites were around for nearly 90 minutes, calling and communicating with each other and looking wonderful. 
We finished off the afternoon with a cold drink in the shade at Scott’s, the on-site restaurant. Tomorrow evening we will be sampling their delicious food :) 
In extras is a view from the banks of Loch Katrine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.