Marionb

By Marionb

Time For A Change....

I am still adapting to being back home where there are responsibilities and endless lists of things that need to be done. Today's big event was to be a haircut, but alas, the salon called at the last minute to say it had been canceled; the hairdresser had called in sick. So, deprived of my exciting and fun morning out, I had to come up with something to take its place..

There were lots of options - like weed the garden, go grocery shopping, do the laundry - you know, things that could be put off in favour of something more fun..and then there were others that could not - like comb the cat and give her a massage! So, after the cat was attended to, I decided to change over the living room decor to something less summer-like, leaning slightly to autumn but not quite.. That would be fun. 

These seasonal mini-transitions always start with a new quilt on the wall..and then little things in the mostly white room get switched over to blend with it.....So out with the blue and in with the new - this time, my Kaffe Fassett hatbox quilt..one of my favourites...went up. 

Then the blending began..a couple items in the china cabinet got switched - out with the blue, in with the toile and the patterned..a little pink, a little grey...A couple of pillow shams got changed, and voila..the room now feels less "by the lake" and more "autumn is coming." 

I would like to point out that in my very fleeting recent relationship with the de-cluttering movement, I removed all the china that was jammed into that cabinet and went for a more minimalism look..so now, rather than that cabinet being overcrowded and cluttered, other cabinets in the house are. Those dishes had to go somewhere!  

And again in accordance with the minimalism guidelines I read, I regretfully tossed out my collection of pumpkins, as apparently I am only allowed three. Note that one of them is now on display in said cabinet in deference to the coming harvest season; the other two patiently await the next mini-transition. 

So, another day home from the cottage and the unpacking has not yet been completed...and the list of things I need to do is still as long as it was when I woke up this morning. Such is life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.