Let the Hunt Begin..

A day in search of treasures..organized by my friend Noreen and her cousin Margaret. I do love browsing charity shops and antique markets, but I am an amateur compared to Noreen and Margaret. They know all the best places to go - places I have never heard of...and they are seasoned hunters...

They had a destination in mind for the day ..a village not too far from here  known for its antique shops..but unbeknownst to me. They led the way and I drove..

It was the perfect day for a country excursion.. sunshine and blues skies with a touch of autumn in the air.. A scenic drive through farmland and rolling hills, exploring a little more territory than planned due to the challenge of detouring around road construction closures...they are everywhere these days (We have two season here - winter and road construction)

We spent most of our day in the village, having lunch and browsing in the shops, prowling through their mazes of rooms and niches piled high with china, collectables, memorabilia, books, furniture..everything and anything old, once loved and then discarded..I was particularly dismayed at finding two old quilts sewn, appliquéd and quilted by hand and still in good condition, being offered for a mere pittance...All that work and loving care .. abandoned .. and looking for a new home...but alas, it couldn't be mine - my home is already full of quilts! 

For me, the fun of the day was the hunt..I saw lots of interesting and tempting things, but I bought only one small item - a sugar bowl for my sister..a piece she was missing from a set. On the other hand, Noreen found the perfect alabaster lamp that she has been looking for for years ...and Margaret found a fabulous paper mache clown..so funky and colourful and fun that if I had seen it first, I would have bought it myself!  (extra) As expected, the pros did not come home empty-handed...I nearly did, but for a little sugar bowl! 

The plan was to visit two other favourite shops en route home, but we managed to fit in only one - a series of barns filled to the brim with some china and glassware but mostly furniture - before we ran out of time. 

How quickly a fun day of hunting flies by! I had forgotten...I think more of these day outings are in order...









 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.