The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Turning Japanese

I picked these Japanese anemones on the way home yesterday. Picture quality not as I had hoped. Song: https://youtu.be/RLQeb5NGt3E

Today...hmmm. In terms of trading, worst-ever Friday. £20 taken. Rent £12. Cost of stock likely be about £13. Oops. We all had a pretty rubbish day, through.

Afterwards I walked around Stroud to get some exercise; walked home. Did more gardening, which was all good apart from the cat sh*t. There is so much of it, and more often than not it ends up on our shoes, which then have to be cleaned to industrial levels. One of the neighbourhood cats even sh*t adjacent to our beloved Bomble's grave! Not so much " I spit on your grave"...

Listened to a Newcast episode, and then Just One Thing with Michael Moseley. (As a result of this listening, I'm going to try and start standing in one leg for brief periods, as apparently this improves balance, and this in turn improves life expectancy). Then I found a BBC play called Pivot. It turned out to be set in 2025, and concerned a virus from South-East Asia.

After that I washed my stinky shoes in the machine, and had a bath. My new vintage crime read is Miss Pym Disposes, by Josephine Tey. I'm enjoying it so far, it's set in a terribly Spartan college of physical education for girls. Our head nun at the Convent was a hockey-and-tennis sort of sporting dragon. I was a hide-in-the-cupboard-and-read-The-Thorn-Birds type. The head used to proclaim, 'I could have played at Wimbledon if I hadn't become a nun'. Could she have, really? We'll never know.

Meanwhile, the young Raducanu is doing very well for the UK on the world's tennis courts. Let's hope she never gets The Call.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.