Ruby

My title was all set up to be In The Jungle as this morning’s ride was a little steamy heading up and down along the river. Yes, it was another up and down 10 miler and Rich pointed out a 20% hill is now a relief. I was also all set for a photo of the milkman crossing the footbridge over the ford on the way back to Grosmont. 

But check this butt!

I spotted the scarlet rear of what I thought was a beetle on the wall next to the front door… On closer inspection, a ruby-tailed wasp! 

They’re skitty so my photo isn’t going to be the best but I’ve wanted a proper sight of one ever since I spotted the metallic critter on here and a brief landing of one on my knee at my sister’s. It’s totally made my day.

Nature has been right on the doorstep all afternoon. We’re in an elevated position, overlooking trees, some of which have been lopped. I’d said they’d make good woodpecker posts but I wasn’t expecting two! It was like a widescreen TV watching them move across the tree trunks from left to right. Then it was a sky full of swifts, maybe because the ants are flying. A couple of dragonflies while I was watching those interrupted my vision. A brimstone butterfly, a squirrel with a white-tipped tail, a rabbit and a calling buzzard. 

Relaxed would be an understatement. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.