Chim Chim Cheree

Given the rise in temperature, we headed out in the cool through the trees on a walk designed around Little Dog. We strolled to Goathland with the intention of catching a steam train back. Everything went to plan with the perfect stop for a dip in the beck before the last incline on the path of the old Stephenson pulley railway to the village. The light through the trees for the first hour was sublime and we arrived in plenty of time for a snack and drink in the shade of the station cafe.

When we booked our tickets, it was a shame to discover that our train was going to be diesel but given the epic they seemed to have had that morning with the steam trains, we were just glad that we had transport back!

We chilled out for a while until late  afternoon when we headed off for an adventure in the van. We had another double-outing short bike ride lined up - Rich’s first ascent of Rosedale Chimney Bank. I was the perfect gentleman letting him go first but the beauty of these little excursions is, your turn is never very far away.

It’s a while since I’ve been up it so there was doubt in my mind but I found I had enough beans despite my front wheel lifting up a few times. 

Earlier, I’d told Rich the story of the guy in the white car-van who gave me a nutter's smile at the start of the steep bit. Funnily enough, just as I’d finished that tricky section what should be heading down but a little white car van, this time with two blokes giving me a cheer and a congratulatory fist shake. That gave me everything I needed to finish the climb with a bounce and a grin to the red sun setting over the moors. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.