Screen printing

I’m not sure that this kind of print making is for me but I rather like this one where the grey didn’t print solidly.  Something to learn from this mistake.  I’m hoping this will be the start of a few more experiments as I can continue this at home if I can sort out where it would be best to clean the screen. 

I was very, very tired when I got home and went for a lie down, though didn’t sleep.

p.s. I’ve been reflecting some more on my day.  First, I was very tired - I realise that I’m grieving for both Jan and Ann at the moment.  Second, one of my aims of doing these print workshops has been to explore what additional creative possibilities print making offers me over photography.  I think I’ve developed a high level of skill when it comes to photography and I’d have to work very hard and long to achieve the same level of skill with this kind of printmaking - so I enjoyed a certain amount of hands-on satisfaction from the process yesterday, but one of the things that Kathryn helped me to see was that the photographic images I was showing her were mainly about `light’ and this particular printmaking process is not really about light but about colour.  I think one of the reasons I liked this one is because the grey areas let some of the light through. I want to carry on with printmaking, but at the moment I think I'm seeing the Solar Plate technique as offering me more than screen printing.  I’ve already got some ideas going through my head about how I can collage different images captured in one photograph alongside another.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.