Thinking it through

I’ve done something here that I don’t usually do, which is to post an image that was taken previously because I want to extend my thinking about yesterdays very simple print image.  Like Saturday's screen-print, this one is also based on simple shapes but what’s more important here is the range of colour and texture that I’ve been able to build in and that’s because the process is a Gelli-print one where I could build up layers of colour and texture in a much easier way than I could via screen-printing.  So it’s not that I can’t work with shapes, but I’m much more interested in the subtlety of colour that I can build.

I guess I’m stepping outside the original Blipfoto tradition here in that I’m sharing an image from several years ago, but it feels to me that if I’m not simply going to go through the motion of taking an image a day (and I took a few yesterday - in extra), then I need to write down ideas and share images that mean something to me and which feed in to ideas I’m exploring at the moment.

P.s. I rescued the sheep from a hillside above the cottage in Danby where she was getting lonely out on the hillside on her own.  I’m not sure why but all my greenhouses have tended to end up with a sheep’s skull.  Maybe it’s the teacher in me.  I don’t think I’ve photographed her since I brought her home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.