A bit of a nature walk today

I managed a walk to the top of the hill late morning today.  It turned into something of a nature walk.  The buzzards were `mewing’ overhead, though it took me a while to spot one.  The Speckled Wood butterflies were fluttering away ahead of me as I passed through the narrow part of the path near Clappers.  A path that is enclosed by a tall hedge on one side that is quite overgrown.  (They’re featured in The Guardian Nature column today) and there was a veritable chorus of varied song coming out of the hedge, which stopped me in my tracks until I realised it was the flock of starlings that I’d seen lower down the hillside.  My final find of the day and not spotted until I was almost home, was this Red-cracking Bolete Fungi (at least I think it is).  It’s five years since I last saw them in a similar place.  There’s another specimen nearby, so lets hope no-ones dog destroys it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.